U.S. Open Tee Times Announced

On Friday, the tee times for the first two rounds of the 2010 U.S. Open were announced.  Tiger Woods will play with Lee Westwood and Ernie Els in one group (1:36 p.m. PT in the first round) while reigning Masters champion Phil Mickelson is paired with Padraig Harrington and Y.E. Yang (8:06 a.m. PT) in another group.

On Day Two,  things flip with the “Tiger” group teeing off on No. 10 at 8:06 a.m., and the “Phil” group starting at the No. 1 at 1:36 p.m.

The golf writer for the San Francisco Chronicle, Ron Kroichick, noted how some of the groupings announced Friday, included the USGA’s traditional touch of whimsy:

— Tom Watson, 60, will play alongside 18-year-old Ryo Ishikawa of Japan and 21-year-old Rory McIlroy of Northern Ireland.

— Three U.S. Open champs will play together: Retief Goosen, Jim Furyk and Angel Cabrera. So will three British Open champs: David Duval, Tom Lehman and Ben Curtis.

— The short-man group (with PGA Tour wins) features 5-foot-9 Mike Weir, 5-8 K.J Choi and 5-7 Tim Clark. The tall-man group (with AT&T wins at Pebble Beach): 6-4 Dustin Johnson, 6-3 Davis Love III and 6-2 Vijay Singh.

— The no-worries group consists of three accomplished Australians in Adam Scott, Geoff Ogilvy and Robert Allenby.


Got something to say? Go for it!